Star light, Star bright….

Posted on June 6, 2008

1


Now that the memory of futility against England has faded and been replaced by a fresher remembrance of mediocrity against Spain, USMNT fans can start compiling a wish list for the Argentina game.  Frankly, any deviation at all from the past few games would be appreciated.  One of these days I hope Bob Bradley will do something truly insane, like call up a panda cub to play midfield, just to prove that his favorite type of ice cream isn’t vanilla and his favorite musician of all time isn’t Amy Grant.

I wish Argentina will take this game seriously.-   Not much is more frustrating for a fan than to get hyped up for an exhibition match against a more powerful opponent, only to watch the other team come out with its 3rd string and play hopscotch for 90 minutes.  I’d rather the USMNT played against a 2nd tier Mexican league team that’s going to play hard than against an Argentinian squad without any of its best players and high-stepping around like a chorus line to avoid injury.

I wish Clint Dempsey would look good.–  Clint hasn’t looked explosive in a USA jersey for a while now.  The possibility remains that the man they call the Deuce is simply worn out from fighting off relegation as a member of Fulham in the Premier League.  He might also simply be one of those players who simply can’t play unless something real is on the line.  Still, I’d like to see a sparkling match from him, just to prove he can do it.

I wish to see some different players.–  Not that I’m tiring of Michael Bradley and Heath Pearce, but I never thought I’d see the day where Taylor Twellman and Jimmy Conrad would be a nice change of pace.  I don’t care who the other players are, lets just mix it up.  Play some different people, use the same people differently, play a different formation.  Variety is the spice of life, not the cyanide in your Vernors, Coach.

I wish for 1 goal from a build-up–  I don’t want a goal from a set piece.  I don’t want a goal on a counter attack.  I don’t want a rebound or an error by the opposing team.  I want one goal that says, “Even when the opposing defense does all the right things, we can still score.” 

Posted in: Uncategorized